isabel dreamtigers

Isabel is a little girl from Oaxaca, Mexico who loves everything to do with science. Living with her father and brother in a remote house high upon a cliff, she spends days learning about the wonders of the nature and night after night dreaming of the world laid out in her books. After a terrifying dream that is infiltrated by beastly wild tigers, Isabel vows never to sleep again. Soon, the whole family has caught Isabel’s insomnia and life will never be the same.

Dreamtigers was created by the Hinterlands, a Detroit-based company who create original, multidisciplinary performances through play and ecstatic training, engaging with the community through collaboration and exchange. The Hinterlands have been seen in Canada, Kosova, and China, at dance clubs, parks, and repurposed film studios. You can find them online at thehinterlandsensemble.org. An excerpt from the performance can be viewed here

For Teachers

Books About Latin American Literature and Magical Realism


Ada, Alma Flor. A Magical Encounter: Latino Children’s Literature in the Classroom. New Jersey: Pearson, 2002.


Danow, David. The Spirit of Carnival: Magical Realism and the Grotesque. Lexington: University Press of Kentucky, 2004.


Farris, Wendy B. Ordinary Enchantments: Magical Realism and the Remystification of Narrative.  Nashville: Vanderbilt University Press, 2004.


Jorge Luis Borges


Dreamtigers. Trans. Antonio Frasconi. Austin: University of Texas Press, 1964.


Labyrinths: Selected Stories and Other Writings. New York: New Directions Publishing, 1964. Yates, Donald, and Irby, James, Ed.


Julio Cortázar


Blow-Up: And Other Stories. New York: Pantheon, 1985.


Hopscotch. Trans. Gregory Rabassa. New York: Pantheon, 1987.


Gabriel Garcia Márquez


Collected Stories. New York: Harper Collins, 1999.


Love in the Time of Cholera. London: Penguin Books Limited, 2014.


One Hundred Years of Solitude. Trans. Gregory Rabassa. New York: Harper Collins, 2003.


Octavio Paz


The Labyrinth of Solitude. New York: Grove Press, 1994.


The Collected Poems of Octavio Paz: 1957-1987. Trans. Eliot Weinberger and Elizabeth Bishop. New York: New Directions, 1991.